top of page

3 month update - Back to work!


Well that was the fastest 3 months ever! The first month went by pretty slowly, but these last 4 weeks felt especially fast! We had so much going on this month!

Edith took her first roadtrip! We traveled to WV to visit Mathias's family for Thanksgiving and both girls were so good on the ride there and back! With 2 extended stops to eat, stretch our legs, nurse, and change diapers, it took us about 11 hours. It didn't feel as long as when we traveled with just Grace last year and took quicker stops, even though it added at least an hour to the trip with Edith.

I went back to work this past Monday and I was such a bundle of nerves. Not so much about my actual work, but what would happen at home while I was away. Caring for two babies is no. joke. And mornings are the toughest part of the day. Grace is pretty independent and requires minimal supervision, but in the morning, she needs you. And so does Edith....often at the same time. I normally have either Mathias or my mom here in the mornings to help me, so I was nervous for Mathias to tackle both girls by himself the morning I returned to work. I've only even done it a handful of times.

But just like the Superdad he is, Mathias handled it like a boss. (Even better than me, but don't say that too loudly). The week of Thanksgiving, Edith must have been going through a growth spurt (or just the fact we were travelling and not in her normal bed), because she woke up at 3am every morning when she had been sleeping about 7hrs through the night. Then on Thanksgiving she slept for 11 hours. Eleven. What?!

So I was curious what she'd do this week while I was not there to nurse her. 3am rolled around, still fast asleep. 6am rolled around, still no call from Mathias telling me he needed back-up. The child slept til 7am, took a bottle, then slept til noon! Again, what?!

After these last 2 weeks of studying her behavior, it appears she will sleep as long as I'm not in the house lol but it's like she can smell me when I'm here! It's fine though, I've made a few changes this time around with nursing, and our nursing relationship has been better than it was with Grace because of it.

Edith is quickly becoming more aware of the world around her and especially more aware of Grace, who is always so sweet to her! Grace has been so helpful around the house, loves showing her little sister off to people, wants to help feed her, and gives her love and kisses throughout the day. I hope her sweetness towards Edith lasts forever! Sisters never fight, right?


RECENT POSTS

FEATURED POSTS

CATEGORIES

bottom of page